New Glasses

I’m getting new glasses today.

I’ve had quite a horrible day –

It seems like no one adjusts but me,

Despite me knowing that I can be

A little impatient sometimes

Although that’s really the smallest of crimes.

I’m getting new glasses today,

And I’m getting quite excited – I think I may

See things anew, if you know what I mean,

And maybe my family will seem a little less mean

Than they do right now –

It’s silly, I’ll avow,

But I wish

For more fish

Like the poor would

For more food.

I’m getting new glasses today,

And I dare to hope that it may

Be the beginning of something, something new;

Something glamorous and hope-filled too.

I could get a job;

I may write a book;

Or maybe get caught up

In the most glorious hook-up –

The possibilities are endless,

That’s what I’m trying to say;

Anything could happen –

I’m getting new glasses today!

ask. debate. scribble.

