After the Tower Scene

Light and Shade Challenge again, yay! This time’s quote is:

She tells enough white lies to ice a wedding cake – Margot Asquith

I had a little fun with this one to make up for last time’s seriousness. Just a little peek into the Capulet balcony after the famous tower scene.


 

“Who’re you talking to, Juliet?”

“No one, Nurse, I was just…reciting poetry.”

“At this late hour?”

“Just practicing for recitation.”

“Recitation? For whom?”

“The, erm, my mother. She wanted to hear me recite.”

“When?”

“…Friday.”

“Mhm. Lovely night, isn’t it? I think I’ll join you for a bit of air.”

“No!”

“No?”

“Yes, I mean, I’d love to have you join me, but there’s a cobweb here. I know you hate spiders. Plus, I think I’m coming down with something….ugh ugh….see? No, wait, don’t – !”

“Hmm, I could’ve sworn…”

“See? Nothing.”

“Hmph. Get inside. And lock up behind you.”

8 comments on “After the Tower Scene

  1. teenagers are bad the lies, then and now. 😉

    but this was fun to read and written just as Juliet would have sounded, trying to hide her Romeo.

ask. debate. scribble.

