Getting Down and Nerdy

Monday, October 14, 2013

This week we are giving you a page from the Oxford English Dictionary.  The ninety-ninth page, to be exact.  (Click to enlarge.)  From this page, you can choose any word, any definition, to use in your post.  (Please type your chosen word in bold, so we know.)  And instead of our typical 33-333 word limit, we are asking for 99 words exactly.

So, as you will see, I picked the word bacillus, which is on the lower half of page 99. It means, “rod-shaped bacterium.”

xxx

“…lost all my numbers, so can you give me yours again?”

“Sure, just throw me a really good pickup line first.”

“What, here? In microbiology lab?”

“Yup, shoot.”

“Umm, okay,…uh…do you know CPR, bec- ”

“Please. Cliché.”

“Wait, how about………Baby, are you Google? Because you’ve got everything I’m looking for.”

“Closer. Last try. I’m gonna start culturing today’s bacillus sample while you think.”

“Okay. Hey, how about something a little nerdier?”

“Interesting. Try me.”

“How about letting me inoculate your agar with my bacillus? There’s nothing micro about my biology.”

“Get your pen out. Now. Pun intended.”

xxx

35 comments on “Getting Down and Nerdy

ask. debate. scribble.

