Prosaic License

Monday, August 5, 2013

Trifecta: Week Eighty-Nine

1: lacking strength: as
: deficient in physical vigor : feeble, debilitated
: not able to sustain or exert much weight, pressure, or strain
: not able to resist external force or withstand attack
: easily upset or nauseated <a weak stomach>
2a : mentally or intellectually deficient
: not firmly decided :vacillating
: resulting from or indicating lack of judgment or discernment
: not able to withstand temptation or persuasion <the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak>
3: not factually grounded or logically presented <a weak argument>

“Hey, so should I go for something that tastes rich or something that’ll keep me awake all night?”

“Can’t you get one that’s both? I think I’ll go with the generic one – much cheaper.”

“Okay, I think I’ll get this one.”

“Which one’s that?”

“Awake-all-night coffee. Obviously. It looks like it’s pretty easy to make too.”

“Looks weak to me.”

“Huh?”

“The coffee beans are not, factually, grounded. And since you’ve been overworked recently, need sleep, and are only buying that to be able to stay up and watch TV, your choice of coffee beans was presented to me without the application of logic. Your illogically presented coffee beans that are not factually grounded are, therefore, weak.”

“Oh Lord, you’re working on a Trifecta post again, aren’t you? Also, it’s ground. Coffee beans are ground, not grounded.”

“Pfft. Po-tay-to, po-tah-to. And so what if I am?”

“No, levi-oh-sa, levio-sah. Especially given that you think language is your forte.”

“Bah, humbug.”

“Hmm, is that an admission of defeat I hear?”

“No. I’m just trying to remember what else was on the shopping list. Which you forgot at home.”

“Mhm. Sure.”

“What? I am!”

“Weak argument, Bro. Real weak.”

“…”

36 comments on “Prosaic License

  1. Oooo. Writing about writing–one of my favorite types of posts. Great wordplay. You know we were starting to get ornery at the wrong definition of weak. Nice job with the tweak. Also? Mmmmm. . .coffee.

ask. debate. scribble.

