Confessions of a Dinner-Eater

Daily Prompt: You, the Sandwich

July 23, 2013

If a restaurant were to name something after you, what would it be? Describe it. (Bonus points if you give us a recipe!)

Photographers, artists, poets: show us DINNER.

I love take-out too much;

I know it’s true,

But please try and keep it

Between us two.

I know I’m supposed to like

Green salads, juice and rice,

And sometimes I do –

I just like having a choice.

With turkey, stuffing and cranberry,

Thanksgiving dinners are the best

Good food has a way

Of making you feel blessed.

Did I mention I love apple pie?

I do.

I like frosting, cheesecake and cake

And whipped cream too.

After I’m done,

I look at what’s left

Ethiopia and India glower;

My clean-up is deft.

The washing and putting-away-ing

I really don’t mind:

I’m a Virgo – this job fits us in a way

That’s one-of-a-kind.

Oops I forgot again:

Dinner’s supposed to be light.

Eh, maybe tomorrow

If I’m bothered to get it right.

Also, I work just a little

Different from many –

I give my thanks,

After eating, for plenty.

I feel it then

And in that moment I know

That no joy can compare

To the after-dinner glow.

6 comments on “Confessions of a Dinner-Eater

  1. Pingback: Me, the Seafood Paella | just another outlet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: You, the Sandwich | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: ME, the Sandwich. | Brianne Writes

  4. Pingback: “Pan tumaca” | Life is great

  5. Pingback: Welcome to Restaurant “Caprice Infatuation” | Ramisa the Authoress

  6. Pingback: Eat Me! | Edward Hotspur

ask. debate. scribble.

