The Real Problem: Trust in Judgement

Daily Prompt: Keep Out

July 9, 2013

Who is the one person you hope isn’t reading your blog? Why?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us OUTSIDE.

Oh ho ho this is a good ‘un. Who do I hope isn’t reading my blog?

1. my parents

2.my siblings

3.friends who are on that fine border between friends and best friends

4. best friends

I’m guessing most people are uncomfortable with people close to them reading their blog, and that I’m not displaying alien tendencies by being so. So then I asked myself why I’m most uncomfortable showing my real thoughts and feelings to the people I’m closest to. The answer sounds like it belongs in a sale-bin-delegated self-help book. I think it’s because you care so much about the people closest to you and they mean so much to you that you’re afraid to let them down. You know them well enough to know what they approve of (or think you do) and are scared of driving them away or causing disapproval by exposing anything to the contrary. It’s also because: (a) they will judge you and (b) unlike strangers, you allow them to judge you and believe in their judgement. So basically, if they have a negative view of what you write (which, I’m assuming, comes from a place in you that people around you don’t usually see) then your self-opinion and estimation of self-worth dips. Tremendously.

So yes. I’m trying to work on gradually showing more and more people my blog. It serves the purpose of both increasing your self confidence and reducing your fear of what others think of you. It also kind of weakens that bond between your self-confidence and others’ opinions of you. Wow. Thank you Daily Post, you made me really think.

10 comments on “The Real Problem: Trust in Judgement

  1. I like the way you put it “weakens that bond between your self-confidence and others’ opinions of you” … that’s exactly what putting yourself out there does, and it’s harder than it looks. Keep writing, I look forward to following your blog. 🙂

    • It most definitely is. Especially when something suddenly happens, and you feel for a horrible minute that you might be back to square one. Luckily, you never are 🙂 Thank you so much! ^_^

  2. Pingback: Come in! | Vivir, que no es poco

  3. Pingback: Never Write About Your Mother (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  4. My friends actually feel closer to me when they read my blog, since we are all too busy with our own lives most of the time. I love it when stranger read my blog and like it, but yes, I too feel that strange itchy feeling if its someone I know in real life but don’t know very well reading my blog and whether it changes their impression of me for the better or worse.

    All I can do and keep trying to life a beautiful life, no matter how far I am from it! 😀

    Have a great week!

  5. Pingback: DHS in the Hood | Cheri Speak

ask. debate. scribble.

