What Bothers Me About Soap Operas

Monday, July 1, 2013

Trifecta: Week Eighty-Four

CRUDE

1: existing in a natural state and unaltered by cooking or processing

2 archaic : unripe, immature

3: marked by the primitive, gross, or elemental or by uncultivated simplicity or vulgarity 

4: rough or inexpert in plan or execution 

5: lacking a covering, glossing, or concealing element : obvious 

6: tabulated without being broken down into classes 

There’s nothing more unsettling than watching your mother, father, sister, grandmother and grandfather clustered around the television, all watching the same soap opera. I don’t know what disturbs me the most: one, that of all things possible, this is what brought the family together, two, regret that they choose to spend their leisure time (and sometimes their un-leisure time as well) so utterly unproductively on a regular basis, or third, that we as a people fall pray to the networks’ crude play on emotions so easily every time. The same formula of heartbreak, tears and gossip, and it works like a charm. Every. Single. Ti-

Oops, gotta go – he’s about to catch her cheating on him!

20 comments on “What Bothers Me About Soap Operas

  1. Pingback: Catching up with friends: What Bothers Me About Soap Operas | windandlaughter | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

  2. In their heyday, Soaps ruled the airwaves, didn’t they? Here is my soap opera story, for what it is worth: during my university years, I would fly every Christmas to my home on Cape Breton Island in Nova Scotia. Every year, back home, there is a fundraising telethon called The Christmas Daddies Telethon which helps raise money so that needy families can have a good Christmas, too. Usually, the organizers manage to convince a semi-celebrity or two to come to Cape Breton and make an appearance on the show. Well, unbeknownst to me, this particular Christmas flight that I was on was being met at the local airport by thousands and thousands of placard waving fans of two soap stars from the now defunct series, Another World. So, as I began to exit the plane upon its’ arrival, a huge cheer rose up as everyone thought I was one of the Soap stars. Just as quickly, the cheers dissipated and murmurs of discontent replaced them as realization of my mortal nature became apparent. Luckily for me, the only person not disappointed to see me get off of that plane was my mother. In a sea of indifferent faces, my mother was there only for me. We left the frenzied mob behind us and headed home for a cup of hot tea and The Christmas Daddies Telethon on tv. That’s my brush with soap opera stardom. Thanks for rekindling a funny memory from my youth. 🙂

  3. Funny! I remember growing up, my mom used to watch a few soap operas. I’d get hooked on them in the summer and was disappointed when school started because I’d miss something. Oddly enough, when I saw them on holidays and breaks, I found I didn’t really miss much 🙂

    • I know what you mean. I think it’s because they drag out the same issues for so long while making you feel like something’s happening. It’s only when you take a break from them that it hits you how much time you spend on them!

  4. Loved the twist at the end. I’ve often thought I should stop watching so many of the evening dramas (which are really soaps too), but they’re just so darn addictive!

  5. Good one! I loved the ending. Years ago I used to watch Another World with my mother. One of my sisters still dvr’s whatever her favorite is, I’ve forgotten, and watches it after work. They are indeed addicting.

  6. hahaha as someone who compares her own work to bad soap operas, I gotta love this piece (: (Yours is better than any soap opera!)

  7. That ending was so perfect, so true to life for anyone sucked into a soap unwillingly. 🙂 Nice writing.

ask. debate. scribble.

