Leaf Litter

Daily Prompt: No Longer a Mere Mortal

June 29, 2013

You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?

[http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/29/daily-prompt-mere-mortal/]

I shuddered. Looking at the overcast sky, it made me wonder whether I really did want to be here forever. I walked down to the wharf where the cold ocean was beating against the city defenses. It was a gloomy morning, and I couldn’t help but relive my whole life in my head, thinking of all life’s problems, all my problems. Tug. I frowned, looking at my feet; they were caught in a tangle of seaweed. I tried to step neatly out of it and failed. Bending down, mentally rolling my eyes in annoyance, I tried to extricate my feet from the plant. But what I touched was certainly not seaweed – cold and hard, my shivering fingers scraped against a raggedly cut piece of plastic – it looked like half-full garbage bag. Indignant I wondered why anyone would ever mar the beauty of the ocean with (literally) garbage, thinking of all the Discovery documentaries I’d watched, all those otters and dolphins and turtles being choked to death. The next generation was gonna have a lot to deal with. Suddenly, I sucked in a gasp. No, not them. Me. I was going to have a lot to deal with. Pursing my lips, I kicked the plastic trashbag further out of the water to appease my conscience, before hurriedly leaving the spot. The sight of the ocean always made me think too much. Heading back down the road again, I decided I had better send the new couple next door a welcoming gift. And stop dumping leaf litter over in their yard. Cringe. I’d be seeing them for a while.

12 comments on “Leaf Litter

  1. Pingback: Drank Immortality Potion Without Right to Refuse | Iam Who Iam

  2. Pingback: No Longer a Mere Mortal: Almost Immortal – Bhishma’s Tale | Khana's Web

  3. Pingback: I’m On Medication And Can’t Come Up With A Title For This Prompt | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Too much pain, too many tears | Vivir, que no es poco

  5. Pingback: No Longer a Mortal | mycookinglifebypatty

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Too Impossible? | My Daily Prompt Blog

ask. debate. scribble.

