Breathtakingly Alive

Daily Prompt: Singin’ in the Rain

June 15, 2013

Safe inside, toasty warm, while water pitter-patters on the roof… describe your perfect, rainy afternoon.

 

I’m sitting at my dining table,

And I think I forgot to close the window

Because the curtains are flying

And there is water

Everywhere.

Monsoon wind swirls and gusts are life-giving,

Invigorating, in the face of summer heat.

I’m curled up with Harry Potter again –

I’m sorry if it looks like I’m ignoring you

But I’m not really here anymore;

I really didn’t hear you.

My stomach interrupts me though,

So I blast my DVD player all the way

With a mix CD from two years ago

Signed by a friend,

And sing like no one ever has before

Because no one ever has.

And I get my poncho, chocolate,

Sunflower seeds and soup

Because tea is hard to get just right

And sweaters and coffee are too cliché.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/daily-prompt-rain/

6 comments on “Breathtakingly Alive

  1. Pingback: daily prompt: singing in the rain – without the singing | memoirs of an unremarkable man

  2. Pingback: Forever Rain (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  3. Mmmph 🙂 Delicious! That sounds like a fantastic way to spend the rainy day!

    OooooOO – on a rainy – or snowy day – take that Chocolate, melt it into Almond Milk then add a nice dallop or two of Nutella! Then add a book and that soup and mmph, perfection!

  4. Pingback: MESSY SHEETS | hastywords

ask. debate. scribble.

