What Makes People Deserve Awards?

Daily Prompt: Person of the Year

June 13, 2013

You’re asked to nominate someone for TIME’s Person of the Year. Who would it be, and why?

I don’t know all that much about politics. My general knowledge and awareness barely covers things like the unrest in Turkey and Edward Snowden’s uncovering of the NSA’s spying activity. So no, I don’t think I’m qualified, rather, aware enough, to name anyone as person of the year.

But I am keenly aware of what people I know have been through this past year. Several friends have struggled with their education, my roommate has had on-again, off-again depression because of a guy she’s seeing, and yet another friend questioned humanity itself, saying we don’t deserve to exist. I’ve seen nearly everyone I know, whether I like them or not, fight their own battles. One friend lost a father a year ago, another  has fought her weight and managed to lose some, and so on and so forth.

I looked up today’s Figment Daily Theme a while ago:

Your Daily Theme for June 12, 2013
A writer must learn empathy, that ability to fully understand the emotional life of others. Yes, even those we find depressing, boring, or plain old annoying. It’s that understanding of others that helps us shape compelling, three-dimensional characters.

Take a peek at the News Feed of someone you once hid on Facebook, or unfollowed on Twitter, and select a particularly grating recent post (Maybe: “Off to Zimbabwe then Paris! Pictures to follow! Send me a postcard from wherever you are!”), then write at least 500 words in the voice of that person about that post, in a way that helps you better understand him/her without anger, annoyance, or judgment.

…and was stumped. I trawled through old friends’ walls, searching for something good to use to spur my writing. That’s when I realized how much I’d changed. I was spending time with people I really connected with now, people who cared about me too. I was open to new experiences, and more confident about myself and my abilities. As a result, I was  less constricted, much happier, and a more developed, mature person than I’d been a while ago.
So I dedicate my allocated CyberAward of the Year to all of us. We have all grown this past year, no matter what the cause, what the field and what the reason. We have improved our lives and, whether we realized it or not, also had an impact on the lives of those around us. Just ask a friend and see, I dare you to. And isn’t that what this award is about? To have brought about a change in the world, one that affected others and was appreciated? You are an inspiration to several because of how far you’ve come.
Go ahead, take that badge and pin it on. You deserve it.
10 comments on “What Makes People Deserve Awards?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Person of the Year | On My Front Porch

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Person Of The Year, Really Time? | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: Person of the Year: Big | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: The Person of the Year; And It Ain’t You | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Time’s Person of the Year! DP | Edward Hotspur

  6. All funniness aside though your post made me think. I read the section about having empathy and looked for people I could try to write in the voice of and just couldn’t. Not without wanting to be mocking or just shake my head a bit. These are friends that are mostly in the background now and have been relegated to being just online only and reading their posts made me remember why I hid their posts from my timeline. Because they’re just noise, filler. So thank you for this post. It really made me think.

    • Yeah i know what you mean…mostly though, it made me realize i’d never really looked beyond that imperfection, and as a result, i didn’t know enough about them to write a piece from their point of view.Anyway, thank you for dropping by, reading and taking the time to think about it – i appreciate it! ^_^

ask. debate. scribble.

