A Ray of Hope

  • I combined “Today’s Prompt” by Today’s Author:[The sun blazing through the tiny window near the roof completely changed his perspective.]
  • …and Trifecta’s Weekly Challenge: 

[LIGHT (noun)
 

1a : something that makes vision possible
  b : the sensation aroused by stimulation of the visual receptors
  c : electromagnetic radiation of any wavelength that travels in a vacuum with a speed of about 186,281 miles (300,000 kilometers) per second; specifically : such radiation that is visible to the human eye
2a : daylight
  b : dawn
3: a source of light: as
   a : a celestial body
   b : candle   

The sun blazing through the tiny window near the roof completely changed his perspective. He looked down at the cold stone floor, then back at the bands within the ray of light. A smile played on his lips as he followed the specks of dust dancing in the light streaming through the iron bars of the window. He slowly unbent his creaking knees and stood up, walking to the small bit of floor where the light pooled. Today, the rattling of chains was just background music; today the bonds that reminded him of a desperate existence were just a backstory; today the confines that held him were just temporary, not meant to last. He was the recipient of light, that beautiful, glorious light; the murky, sticky grip of chaos existed in a different world – here there was just the pure, sweet sunlight. I’ll be just fine, he broke into a smile, putting away the hand-cut stone knife beneath the tiles, back where it belonged. In the darkness.

http://todaysauthor.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/write-now-prompt-for-june-11-2013/

http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/2013/06/trifecta-week-eighty-one.html

34 comments on “A Ray of Hope

  1. I agree with Mike-you’ve really captured the hope that light can bring. It always amazes me how good sunlight can make a person feel after a few cloudy days! This is a wonderful piece of writing!

    • Well in my head, in the impromptu world i created for him, he was serving a life sentence, so he was looking for a rather macabre way to escape, having lost all hope. Then came the ray of light. ^_^

      I’m glad you liked it!

      • Frankly, when I read it, Shawshank Redemption came to mind, and I thought of it more as the chisel – but I guess there are other ways he could have used it.

        • I actually still haven’t seen The Shawshank Redemption >.>

          It’s on that list we all have =P

          But yeah, the possibility occurred to me, but this felt more right to me, if that makes sense to you…it just fit better =P

          • I’m a writer, remember? I understand it “just feeling right” 🙂 You should see it – I’ve actually never read the book, but I’ve seen the movie several times as it’s one of mine and my husband’s favorites. I’m embarrassed as a Stephen King fan (since he wrote the book).

            • haha see, that’s what i love about wordpress and blogging sites like this – you don’t really need to explain yourself to anyone! 😀

              well, now i think i’ve been guilt-tripped into both reading it and watching it 😀 this summer for sure. Thanks a ton for stopping by!

  2. I like how you used “light” throughout the piece. I had to read the ending a couple of times–at first I thought he was digging an escape hole, and I guess, in a sense, he was.

  3. This is totally how I felt when Winter finally broke in North Dakota back in May, and suddenly we had this 80-degree day that was so full of possibility that I spent my lunch break standing in the doorway of my car, soaking up the sunshine.

    Of course, two days later we got two solid feet of snow; easy come, easy go!

ask. debate. scribble.

