Petals of Intensity

Daily Prompt: Dulled

You encounter a mysterious man offering you a magic potion that, once sipped, will make one of your senses (sight, hearing, taste, smell, touch) super sharp — but dull the others. Will you sip it, and if so, what sense do you choose?

“Yes! Sight,” I replied without thinking, and before I could look away I suddenly saw him illuminated, bathed in an aura of petals of purple and gold at the fringes and, as I went deeper, colors I couldn’t explain, colors which were not so much colors as…feelings. I could suddenly see him with absolute clarity. But that didn’t quite cover it. I normally saw at people, if that made sense. But now…now I really saw him – saw his thoughts, his feelings, the very intensity and progression of his feelings.

It didn’t quite matter that I had to lean in a little to hear what he said next; it didn’t matter when our parting handshake felt like we were clasping each others’ hands through thick woolen mittens; didn’t quite matter when the coffee I drank fifteen minutes later felt like thick water running down my throat. I could finally see.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/daily-prompt-dulled/

4 comments on “Petals of Intensity

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Wake Up Call | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: If I Was A Tree In The Forest… | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dulled | writinglikeastoner

  4. Pingback: On My Front Porch

ask. debate. scribble.

