Fear

Trifextra: Week Ninety

Katherine Paterson, author of Bridge to Terabithia, wrote, “It’s like the smarter you are, the more things can scare you.”  We are looking for a 33-word explanation of what scares you (or your character).

We sit together, my best friend and I, in comfortable silence.

Then she walks in, my other best friend; suddenly his jokes are only for her.

Et tu?

I know what comes next.

28 comments on “Fear

  1. that feeling of jealously or helplessness is a strong one for all of us. We never want the object of our affections to find another shiny object to stare at.
    Things like that can eat your heart and hope up.

    nice write, happy weekend.

  2. Pingback: FEARS :TRIFEXTRA #90 | Liquid Poet

    • True; it’s only recently (yesterday, in fact) that I realized that not everyone is equally good at reading people – even the blatantly obvious. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

  3. When the right one comes along, there will be no worries about having to share or defend or protect what is yours; it will be yours forever, if your love is true. If not, then protect yourself and your self worth above all else. True friends and true soulmates won’t purposely hurt you, at least, in my experience, anyway. Thanks for a good post. I hope this isn’t about you.

    • Unfortunately, it is about me. Story of my life, actually. But you’re right; protection of self-worth is something I’ve finally learnt. It’s hard to keep that in mind every time you get sidelined though. I thought I’d met the right friend finally, but I realized you can’t ask for attention – if someone cares, they will ask.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment though; I appreciate the reassurance.

ask. debate. scribble.